Our Mission

Our mission is to support and strengthen an effective, efficient public sector through the concepts and strategies of risk management.


History of Oregon PRIMA

Originally known as the “Oregon Territory Chapter of PRIMA,” the chapter was organized in the summer of 1985 by the risk managers of Clackamas County, city of Portland, city of Springfield, Lane County and Salem School District with the goal of promoting effective risk management as an essential component of public administration.

The Oregon Chapter Public Risk Management Association (OR-PRIMA), as it is now known, is officially chartered by the national Public Risk Management Association.  An elected board of directors who are all employed in the field of risk management for Oregon public entities sets chapter policy and manages all chapter activities and finances.

While our mission has remained constant from the beginning, the Chapter has evolved in many ways to better serve its members.  OR-PRIMA is the only state association dedicated solely to the practice of risk management in the public sector, providing a one-stop local resource for educational programming, risk resources and networking opportunities to chapter members who coordinate risk management, purchase insurance, manage human resources, administer safety programs, manage labor issues, and much more.


Past Presidents

  • Laurie Kemper - 2015, 2016
  • Sharon Harris - 2012, 2013, 2014
  • Marc Anderson - 2011
  • Sara Stevenson - 2009, 2010
  • Dwayne Kroening - 2006, 2007, 2008
  • Valerie Saiki - 2004, 2005
  • Gary Deverell - 2002, 2003
  • Bob Osip - 2000, 2001
  • Dan Hartman - 1998, 1999
  • David Hartwig - 1996, 1997
  • Sara Stevenson - 1995
  • Renee Winders - 1991
  • Jerry Hedrix - 1990
  • Barbara Gerson - 1988, 1989